powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Nov. 30, 2008 - 7:16 a.m.

Thanksgiving went smoothly. I survived the family. The art show went fine. Not a total loss, but not as good as I'd hoped. I need to work on my indoor display.

Now it's time to hit the exercise bike, list a bunch of things on etsy, and make fabulous new objects that will get me into the good shows next year. And work on some materials I can mail to shops. And also my annual foray into non-jewelry arts. Every year I mess around with printmaking or something. This year, dunno. More 2D, surely. Layered dyeing stuff I've been thinking about. Calligraphy.

At the craft show, so many of the crafters have, I don't know what to call them, but supplementary products that are a sideline and less expensive than their main product. I have magnets, but I could do more. On the other hand, jewelers just seem to have jewelry. But I could do more with calligraphy products. Or is it worth it? Dunno. I have a hard time putting my heart into many of these types of things. Cards, for example. I cannot sustain excitement for cards, no matter how I try. But I could do something fun and weird and decorative that fits with my (largely invisible to the casual passerby) project of exploring the interaction of text and object. So far it's been text and identity and gender, with the jewelry. But I could go into decoupage easily. Hmm.

Stay tuned for lots of entertaining, failed experiments.

My brother in law has left for the airport, I can have my studio back now. Off I go!

previous next

Leave a note