powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Jul. 20, 2009 - 9:39 a.m.

I've been using the nutritiondata.com tracking function these past few days to keep track of my calorie/nutrient intake. I like it a lot, but find the following situation frustrating: Today, for example, I have eaten 1/2 cup of homemade granola in skim milk, and 3 small slices of cantaloupe. 342 calories. Not a huge, decadent breakfast, but Nutritiondata tells me that I have now consumed 27% of my fat calories for the day.

I just want to know what the diet is such that you can eat everything you're supposed to eat, in a nice balanced food pyramid style, and still remain within the FDA daily allowance for fat. I'm beginning to doubt that it's possible. Guess I should leave out the nuts and oil from the granola? But then, whence the Vitamin E?

Not really stressing over this, it's just annoying. And I am NOT switching to lowfat cheese. No, nay, never.

previous next

Leave a note