powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Sept. 29, 2009 - 2:36 p.m.

It's my birthday! Thanks to Outer-Jesse (who I would link to, but I've forgotten how and am too lazy to look it up)'s brilliant suggestion, I have used pasteurized egg product to make my birthday french silk pie. It's setting up now in the fridge; I'll let you know how it turns out. I think the butter wasn't warm enough.

I'm also going to make beef stew.

I got a package in the mail from J; I've gone ahead and opened it: Trout Fishing in America by Richard Brautigan and The Worst Book I Ever Read, a compilation of rants against popular writers by undergroundy literary types. My friend Chuck has a piece in there-- his target is Dean Koontz. I recommend them both (both the books; not both Chuck and Dean Koontz. I never cared for Koontz); it's also a good thing that I didn't receive trout Fishing in America any sooner or I would have suggested that as a name for the new girl. But I'm attached enough now to the name we have picked, that Trout Fishing In America is not really a contender at this point.

previous next

Leave a note