powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Sept. 27, 2009 - 9:59 a.m.

Walked downtown to drop off some jewelry at one of the shops there-- it's about a mile? mile and a quarter? each way, with a little rest in the middle at the store, then to the art supplies store (I now have a stylus-- 4, actually, I couldn't decide which one I needed and knew that the answer was therefore probably "all of them", especially since they were only like $2.50 each), and home again. Totally exhausted me. Had a baked potato for dinner, fiddled about with my new art supplies, and fell asleep in bed around 8pm listening to "The Thistle and Shamrock" and the rain outside. Had interesting dreams involving panoramic vistas of northern Scotland (sort of flying overhead on some sort of modern mass transit conveyance, the most silent and poetic and least intrusive mass transit conveyance imaginable, like a Disney ride with no safety equipment or tourists, and actual landscape).

When I woke this morning, I had lost 2 lbs. Whoops. That's not supposed to happen! I'm now 1 1/2 lbs less than I was at my last doc appt 3 weeks ago. I'll have to start plotting my birthday treat to make that weight up. Alas, my usual guaranteed weight-putter-onner treat is off-limits. French silk pie, with raw eggs. That's butter, sugar, chocolate, raw eggs, and pie crust. Oh god, how I want some. *sniff* Still, the question remains: a different, safer chocolate pie? Tarte tatin? Something with pecans? Chocolate apple tarte tatin with pecans? Hmm. That last one has possibilities.

previous next

Leave a note