powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Oct. 13, 2009 - 8:09 a.m.

Pumpkin/squash acquisition accomplished. Our stoop is now sporting: 1. A cinderella squash; 2. Two blue hubbards (yum); 3. A banana squash; 4. A peanut squash; 5. A Turk's turban; 6. a regular halloween pumpkin (this was J's idea; usually I prefer tasty squash only). Also got two long-necked butternuts. Now that I'm home, I'm not sure it's enough (I always want more pumpkins). Maybe I should have gotten a green hubbard? Or one of those stripey ones?

All this reminds me of how much I would like to convert the side yard into a garden. I always get this intention in the spring, when it's too late to properly prep the soil with compost. I should do it now. It's simple, isn't it? Lay newspaper, dump compost atop (from my first bin, it is surely ready by now), rake on the leaves that are starting to fall, and let be. Plant my own pumpkins come spring.

Not sure what the hold up is. I just don't like doing things outside once it gets below, oh, 70 or so.

Anyway, yay! pumpkins.

previous next

Leave a note