powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Mar. 01, 2010 - 9:15 a.m.

The next night didn't go any better. Two nights with 2-3 hours sleep left me a bit thin yesterday afternoon. Doesn't help that I can't sleep more that one stretch in the afternoon. One 1 1/2 hour nap ending with an obligatory a nursing session, and I'm up whether I like it or not. Last night we went back to the old method-- handing her over to J till dawn and me going and getting some (punctuated) sleep.

He didn't realize he had to have a visa to go to Brazil, and now may not have enough time to get one! I'm sorry, J, but after the last two nights, I'm now abjectly terrified of a week of taking care of her by myself at night. I'm rooting for slow, US-hostile bureaucracy on this one. Entirely selfishly I know. Nevertheless.

It's be better for your parents, too. You know my social skills are the first thing to go, and I'm not sure they're ready for that. (Actually, I think ability to make decisions about food is the first thing. Social skills go quickly after that, though).

Yesterday, when I was unsuccessfully trying to nap for a second interval, I was inspired to do the following: take a wide paintbrush (2"), dip it into dye, paint it onto the paper in long strokes. Let it dry some, add another color, let it dry some more. Then spray with my dye fixative and finish the process as usual. The result was excellent. I'd like to use it as a base for some calligraphy (it isn't quite enough in and of itself), but I'm running into the usual problem-- text. Can't think of a suitable text. Well, I'll keep poking at it and see what happens. I think I rush things sometimes.

previous next

Leave a note