powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Apr. 24, 2011 - 2:20 p.m.

I have actually begun the flow chart. It lacks only graphical realization. I'd like a little more specificity in terms of when the branded toys enhance or contribute to the play, making them possibly ok. I'm not sure I know what I mean by that. I can think of examples:

Pink ball with Disney Princess: pointless!
Toothbrush with Winnie the Pooh on it: pointless! (Though Q does have one, because they _all_ had characters on them, and it was on sale).

At this point, I haven't spent enough time in toy stores to know what a good example is. I guess I'd know it when I see it. Sesame Street books and plushies would be one, maybe. Though I'm still not in a big hurry to expose her to those either since she doesn't watch TV yet.

And then there are a few things we already have around that would have to be grandfathered in (not just because Grandpa bought them, either): we have a soft spot for Winnie the Pooh, for one. Original illustrations Winnie. I guess because it started out as a book, not a cartoon. Same deal with Dr. Suess. I am biased against new-fangled media like television! So we have a Pooh mobile at the in-laws. Last year there was a little dress involving Pooh. The aforementioned toothbrush (let's call it the Poohthbrush). Pooh window shades for the car. Actually, the latter is the only thing we picked out for ourselves. Maybe we're not as hypocritical as I thought. Similarly, I don't object much to the Sesame Street products, although again, I don't think we actually bought any of them ourselves.

Side note, I've been kind of shocked at how many people assume she's already familiar with Sesame Street characters. It's only come up a couple of times, but both were last year, and it surprised me. She's not even 1! Why would she know who the fuck Big Bird is?

She has a couple of Hello Kitty tchotchkes that need to get lost, too. I never understood the appeal of Hello Kitty.

Anyway, it seems to all be negative examples. Maybe we don't need a flow chart, after all. Just a sign: Until further notice, just don't, if you can at all avoid it.

I don't know how to start this conversation in a productive way. I don't want it to begin in response to something someone has bought her, it seems mean in a couple of different ways to do it at that point.

previous next

Leave a note