powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, May. 08, 2012 - 6:19 a.m.

We're going to officially begin potty training today. I wanted to wait until the end of the semester so I wouldn't have to do all the clean-up by myself. I expect a messy day. Wish us luck. On the bright side, I bet after all the mopping, our floor will be really clean. Just hope I can keep it off the carpet. And bed. And dining room table. And chairs. And sofa.

Have been reading a blog on unschooling. I find the whole thing very appealing. What they have to say about the effect of coerced learning and intrinsic motivation resonates for me. I just can't help but think of how I went farthest with the interests that were MINE, not subjects introduced in school. They survived despite school, not because of it. And how different things might be if I had had the opportunity to pursue them in my own way the whole time, not just evenings and weekends, with healthy doses of demoralization and humiliation during the days in between.

previous next

Leave a note