powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Jun. 20, 2012 - 8:57 a.m.

Made it back to TN. Flights were ok, except for the staff on the first leg not letting us preboard because Q is >2. Never mind that we had a ton of crap and a child who would not let us put her down. But never mind that. The staff at the Charlotte leg were much nicer, and Q was cool on both flights, little pro-flyer that she's become.

Now I'm back in a more home-like atmosphere, I just want to eat whole grains and saut�ed greens to compensate for nearly a week of eating out. I'm not just saying that, either. I could go for some chard with lemon and garlic, and/or farro risotto right now. And it's 9am.

Another mother at the airport was there alone with her 4 or 5 year old son, who was eating a massive piece of chocolate cake and taking swigs off her frozen Starbucks coffee beverage. Then he crawled under the seats in the waiting area, got stuck, and yelled for her while she chatted obliviously (and, it seemed to me, non-urgently) on the phone. Eventually he extracted himself (good problem solving!). Then there followed a lot of loud, irritating whining. I remembered why I have always hated children. I noted that the behavior was consistent with what the parenting blogs I read say will happen when your child is not getting the kind of positive attention from you that they need. Then I reminded myself not to be a judgmental prick. Because parenting is hard. Because airports are hard with a small child, especially if you're the only adult on duty. But still. (I am sometimes a judgmental prick. I try really hard not to act like one, though, fwiw.)

previous next

Leave a note