powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Dec. 16, 2012 - 6:29 a.m.

I think I've said all I have to say about that.

My friend sent Q a couple of presents, and we opened them for the 8th night of Hanukkah. One was a fuschia tutu. It's actually a nice color, and sort of shiny. We convinced Q it was a hat, and she kept making me put it on my head and then she'd pull it off. I did finally explain that it could also be a skirt. Given how touchy she is about new clothing, I'd say the likelihood of her wearing it any time soon is low, but with my luck it'll become her favorite thing ever and then all will be lost.

I don't want my daughter wearing a tutu! I'm a jerk! I would have loved a tutu too when I was 3! She can love trains AND tutus! What am I thinking?! I am an old, bitter, tutu-hating feminist.

So I'll put it in the closet and if she wants it, there it will be.

previous next

Leave a note