powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Jun. 25, 2017 - 5:51 p.m.

Cycling back into a calligraphy phase. Kicking around again why it is that I am so drawn to the written word when I'm not that into quotes in general. And how to best indulge my calligraphic urges when I am annoyed by everything I might actually write.

My provisional answer is that it is of a piece with my love of linguistics, in particular language structures and patterns. And the variety of them out there.

Yes, I am contemplating how enjoyable it would be to render paradigms and so on in calligraphy. "Mighty enjoyable" is my sense of it now, but you know how I can be. We'll just have to see. It would need to transcend language-specific appeal to be truly satisfying, I think. Anyway, beats aphorisms.

We have been heavily into popsicles around here lately. Avocado and line, avocado chocolate, strawberry yogurt, strawberry with pineapple and banana, coconut milk and nectarine. Currently prepping a batch of apricot sweet tea with white peach.

Fruit purchased this weekend between grocery, farmer's market, and Costco: cherries, peaches, apricots, more peaches, raspberries, blueberries, blackberries, strawberries, mangoes. GAWD. FRUIT. And apples and bananas and pears, , but that goes without saying. Also oranges from the produce recovery program.

previous next

Leave a note