powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Jul. 05, 2017 - 1:45 p.m.

Something about seeing all the amazing calligraphy on Instagram finally got to me and I am buckling down. I have loved calligraphy since I was a teenager, did some very nice things in my late teens, then basically got totally distracted with life for 20 years. By now I should be very good but I am worse than I was then.

I am starting with Roman capitals and I am going to practice until I master them. Godammit. Until I am as good as I want to be, to do all the things I want to do. Quick, before I get arthritis.

The beginnings are not very glorious. Rows of letters as I train my hand to do do the movements automatically and train my eye to see how it should look. But I am done saying I just need to practice to get better and pretending I'm brilliant anyway.

I think of all the practice s musician puts in. This is exactly the same. Hours a day. I will do my best.


previous next

Leave a note