powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017 - 5:48 p.m.

I made that little train book and it was the funnest thing I have made in some time. Now I have all sorts of ideas for fun little books. U wanted to make a book too, so I helped him with the same project we did last week and he nearly exploded with ideas immediately after. It was so startlingly like me, but all externalized and uninhibited with considerations of "and then what am I gonna do with it". I hope we will make more together, it would be great to have a bookbinding buddy.

That question of "what do I do with it" is actually central to my sustaining motivation to make something. It has to interact with someone out in the world or I won't keep it up. I made an extra train book for my friend's kid who has a number of serious health problems, that felt good. Selling is just one way, but short of that, there needs to be destination or audience of some sort. I want to think of a way for these books I have in mind to have an audience.


previous next

Leave a note