powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Jan. 02, 2018 - 12:17 p.m.

Trying to work myself up to calling the psychologist to make an appointment for Uly. Some days, I'm like, "He's 5! This is normal!", Other days, I'm like, "This...is not normal." Have mainly settled on the latter, but then I also imagine how totally angry and uncooperative he will be, and *sigh*. I don't wanna do it.

I remember before I knew anything about neurodivergence, hearing about a maligned cousin-in-law who "went to psychologists with a whole list of things her son did and shopped around until she found one who would give her a diagnosis without even talking to the boy!". It seemed outrageous, out that way. Surely the right thing to do is bring the child to the doctor and submit unquestioningly to their professional, objective opinion. HAH! Now I see that she was very experienced with mental health professionals and assessments. And the whole family accepts the diagnosis now. She had problems, for sure, but she wasn't wrong about that.

previous next

Leave a note