powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Sept. 28, 2020 - 8:02 a.m.

I keep thinking I want to do more appliqué but then I look at appliqué on IG and think, ugh. I don’t like these people. Which is absurd in a way because I can do whatever I want to do. It’s not a competition. But I do like it better when I can find a few people with an aesthetic I like.

I don’t need to be doing appliqué right now. I need to be making jewelry and photos.

^ That’s the kind of thinking that turns it into a demand and ensures I never touch it again.

Today is U’s birthday. Number 8. We went to a private toy shopping appointment yesterday and he wouldn’t wear a mask so we waited outside...also spent the whole time clinging close to me and burying his face in my arm and trying to avoid being in the direct line of sight of any other people. I don’t understand the nature of his social anxiety, but I fear that quarantine has made it worse by deacclimating him to the presence of others. Poor kid.

previous next

Leave a note