powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Jul. 09, 2023 - 5:13 p.m.

I have spent hours today just laying in bed. It’s not good.

Browsing IG is self-punishment. All the pretty perfect things everyone is making. But I need to return to blowing bubbles, which felt like art, was entirely for me, but bystanders may have felt some way about it. And then *pop*.

When I was 10 or 11 we hung around the library so much the librarians put us to work. Us being me and Alice. One time the children’s librarian has us make these big hanging fish. We had a long roll of paper, we’d draw and cut out the fish, so the other side, staple the edges about a half inch in, and stuff them with crumpled scrap paper. I loved doing it and loved the big colorful fish we’d made hanging in the library for about a month. I am literally still trying to think of a way to capture this but with more respectable materials. But not cloth because that’s just hanging stuffed animals and that’s not the aesthetic.


previous next

Leave a note