powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Jul. 13, 2023 - 3:38 p.m.

J wore his cyanotype shirt in Santa Fe and got several compliments and inquiries as to where he got it.

That was enough to encourage my nonsense, and predictably, I’m now contemplating doing more of that. The model being this: find clothing at thrift stores. Do cyan (botanicals or from photo negatives or whatever) and/or mends and/or dyeing and/or printing and/or any other modifications I want to make. Show the pieces on IG, FB gradually, then do a “drop” of items to an online store (Etsy is fine) however often seems warranted. Quarterly, let’s say.

They get pretty prices for individual pieces if they have a following, when there’s work in them.

Potentially can offer some wholesale using new blanks, more standardized, through my current store and expanding the range. If I want.

Gotta have somewhere to dry and store the clothing before I do my thing with it. Got to find a way not to have the leaves blowing away before I’m halfway done with the exposure.

Oh yes, if it goes well these items would be higher priced, but then the jewelry work would benefit from a higher price point reference work. Or be supplanted entirely, which I wouldn't mind, to be honest. Do I want to put the work in to see how it will go? Maybe. Yes.

Of course, I get very excited about an idea I can in no way act on for the next 2 weeks, until I’m home again. Don’t think these things are unrelated.

previous next

Leave a note