powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Aug. 24, 2023 - 7:26 a.m.

The unhinged bullshit my creative drive is putting me through the last few days. Back to geometric origami, which hasn’t been a thing for me for like 4 years.

I guess the idea that any artist does one thing and sticks with it or that if they did, it’s obviously a good thing and means anything good about literally anything, is a made up story, one made up to probably sell something.

I do need to do my work, though, and not just fold paper.

I also did some gestural mark-making and letters on one of the things I folded, using a couple of my folded pens, and I have to say it was possibly the most enjoyable that I’ve found that exercise. In the past I was trying to make a text look a certain way, and this time I had no outcome in mind. It was very good. Then I folded it up and whatever composition it had disappeared. Then I tried to flex the object and it ripped because I disregarded making it in the proper dimensions to do that.

Anyway, going to view all pleated paper objects as potential books, at least for today.

previous next

Leave a note