powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Aug. 28, 2023 - 9:03 a.m.

I’m still working with the same three folded transparency structures I have made. The time of day and sun angle affects the exposure time, and it’s a delicate matter getting it just right.

It’s activated my “do every possible variation of a theme” thing, and I finally got some insight into that for these objects (though not for every creative circumstance where that rears it’s head). But the insight is that is one of the continuous threads of my creativity though all the years. Not the only one, but a major theme.

In this case, it’s because I can take any one object and depending on the angle of the sun and the position of the object on the paper, get a huge number (I won’t say infinite, but it may as well be) of different images.

It’s the same object but depending on the angle from which you’re viewing it, it’s almost unrecognizable as the same object. A little bit of a Platonic insight there, nothing new. But these shapes illustrate this very well, in addition to being minimalist and geometric and beautiful.

They lend themselves really well to a series, or a grouping anyway. Book format or on the wall.

previous next

Leave a note