powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Sept. 06, 2023 - 9:21 p.m.

I drew a couple tarot cards about my art right now. For general advice, and what is my goal? I got the Chariot and 7 of Pentacles, both of which are very “hard work and determination will pay off; stay focused, be diligent” sorts of cards. I’ll reach my goal if I just stick with it. What’s my goal? Maybe my goal is just to stick with it. See it through.

Anyway I’m just trying to figure out now what folds I like best. I want a type of fold, a family of folds that will yield new structures forever, and won’t feel like just doing the same thing over and over. Accordions or things that basically remain more or less flat aren’t that interesting to me. The tubes and columns are good, but can be hard to get a good print of them because too many folds makes them more opaque. And there are only a couple interesting angles. Rings are nice. Arches are ok but the same issue as columns. I can do a lot more with pop-up structures.

I have to remember I don’t have to stick with rectangles. And I can sew things together.

The other thing I want is to find the right structure that when I fold a negative and print it, at least some image is discernible. I’ve wasted a couple negatives already discovering that the fold isn't conducive to producing an image. Distorted image is fine, but it should be noticeable as such.

previous next

Leave a note