powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Sept. 23, 2023 - 11:10 p.m.

I gave in to the urge to purchase gardening products. Got a couple herbs with the intention of propagating them and maybe trying just growing them in water (Kratky method hydroponics!). If I have a few, when one dies, it won’t be a complete loss. Mojito mint (AGAIN), oregano (AGAIN), and cinnamon basil. Plus my lavender out front is in bad shape and I’m trying to rehabilitate it, or save something anyway. I took a cutting from that too.

Another parent at E’s school who had once expressed interest in my patched up pants caught me again the other day and wants me to show her how to do darning. She seems nice and I have no anxiety about this at all. I’m not even being sarcastic. Well, if I can show people how to do stuff, not as A Teacher, but as a person showing them how to do stuff, I’m pretty happy and comfortable doing that. My “hey, I don’t know what I’m doing and I’m terrible at it but I do it anyway, happy to show you the basics” attitude is the exact opposite of the “sell yourself and position yourself as an expert who does amazing and interesting things” bs that actually gets attention and confidence from bystanders. Oh well.

Took Q and E to meet new friends we met on the internet, in an autistic group, a parent and child who sounds like they have a lot in common with Q. It went well enough, Q was interested and both of them sat and drew while we attempted to chat overtop E interrupting constantly. Q is still somewhat socially… conspicuous, let’s say, in comparison to age-mates, so I worry, but she showed them her drawings and it really was a lot of interaction from her. She said she’s interested in doing it again. So yay.

My former co-worker at the USDA-ARS posted some video of the Gators game in the stadium and let me tell you, I have have zero regrets about never attending a game in my time there. That was a whole bigass soup of nope. Horrifying. Fucking Gainesville.

previous next

Leave a note