powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Oct. 28, 2023 - 9:27 p.m.

The class went better today. Her pace was better for me, and we practiced all kinds of things with pencils and shading which were probably basic but I didn’t know. Plus using different hardnesses of pencils. It was valuable.

I don’t like producing a thing that looks like a thing everyone else produced, but once I’m turned loose I can do whatever. Takes me longer to process because I mentally run it through its application to not just calligraphy but also textiles, printmaking, cyanotype, jewelry.

The concert last night was fantastic. I was anxious before and at the beginning, but once the headliner came on it was fine. Really really a good show. I’d see them again every time they come.

Finally finished the yellow cycle in the textile and have begun the fade to green. Happy about that. It was a lot of yellow. I don’t know how to photograph this thing or I would post pics.

Oh the other thing I was going to say was that in bouncing back and for between calligraphy and my struggles with text and this textile piece, I realized that for me the meaning of the textile piece is emergent and revealed to me as I do it. It’s a result of my reflecting on process and materials. Whereas with text, or representational images, the meaning resides in that representation and then I can’t find it. I can’t design it that way. That’s not how it works for me. So I need to listen more to my materials.

previous next

Leave a note