powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Dec. 28, 2023 - 12:27 p.m.

Thinking again about appliqué. Yes I’m in one of those phases again, let’s call it search mode?
Claire Beaton is an artist who does appliqué and embroidery scenes and illustrates children’s books with them. We love them and I’m thinking about it today.

Claire Beaton but goth
Claire Beaton but calligraphy
Claire Beaton but weirdly self-referential
Claire Beaton but surrealist
Claire Beaton but John Waters’ aesthetic
Claire Beaton but geometric tiling
Claire Beaton but fetish
Claire Beaton but trad tattoo designs
Claire Beaton but medieval manuscripts

What else. I can keep going.
And then you photograph it and somehow have it made into leggings


Update: “Clare” without an I, but I can’t be arsed to fix it here.

previous next

Leave a note