powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Dec. 31, 2023 - 3:06 p.m.

There’s this book I found on Public Domain Review. Three books really, of water and wave patterns, by a Japanese artist, late 19th century. (Hamonshu, if you want to go look). The designs were widely used by artisans on all sorts of things (and one was the basis for my recent mend on my pants, and another on the jacket I just posted pics of).

I keep looking at it. It’s actually three volumes. Just water. Water is very dynamic, yes. But still.

They do work beautifully as embroidery.

Anyway my thought today was, what if these line patterns, but tornadoes? What if fire? What if clouds? What if stone? What if lightning? What if hurricane? What if dust devils?

And there, another day, another idea that could last me a lifetime.

previous next

Leave a note