powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Jan. 18, 2024 - 12:48 p.m.

The tiny tomato plants in the indoor gardencube had done their best in the face of the spider mites, but today I picked what tomatoes were left, discarded the rest, cleaned the machine and added fresh water. Trimmed the mint and put it back in. I selected more seeds to start: pansies and nasturtiums and strawberries and dwarf kale and a yellow plum tomato. The tomato I will need to relocate sooner rather than later. I’ve learned my lesson about that.

But the pear tomatoes are producing and the red rosso Sicilian is still and they’re all delicious. It’s nice having them in January. I don’t know how many hydroponic buckets I can really manage, especially when they get to sucking down 2 gallons of water and nutrients a day, but I have a feeling I’m about to find out.

Maybe I should expand into vegetable-themed jewelry. It’s a natural extension, right?

previous next

Leave a note