powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Mar. 02, 2024 - 6:07 p.m.

Just here to vent my inappropriate rage again at people complaining about getting old. I honestly can’t tell if this is one of those things that in 20 years I’m going to have to admit I was an ignorant asshole about, but like…

No, you can’t deny the inevitable change of one’s body. Some people have it worse than others, some better. But I contend that in any case, gradual onset of disability aside, getting old isn’t a personality. And if you embrace that social category, what does it get you? Anything worthwhile?

Everybody deals in their own way, it’s very personal, I know. Mortality is a bitch. It’s that chorus of “I’m ollldddd” rising up around me from every direction that makes me want to put in my headphones, crank up some Bob the Drag Queen, and drown it all out.

And with that, I think I’ll do some stretches.

previous next

Leave a note