powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Dec. 06, 2005 - 8:35 a.m.

For all this bitching and moaning I do about linguistics, especially the writing part, on rare occasions things fit together, and then it is sweeet.

My theory about my little morpheme I work on made some unusual predictions about a facet of Swahili no one has looked at. I got a couple of grammaticality judgments yesterday that bore them out. What a feeling! (It was gonna totally suck if they weren't borne out, but they were! They were!) I finally feel like I'm actually doing linguistics. I like it.

Plus, I can see now how, if I wanted to stick with this general topic for an acquisition paper, well, I see how I might could do it.

Plus, I got a comission for a necklace. Well, a person is interested. I guess I don't really have it until she's approved a design and a price. I must resist my urge to lower the price if she turns out to be an undergrad.

Life is good.

previous next

Leave a note