powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Jun. 03, 2006 - 8:19 a.m.

1. Orange-blueberry-hazelnut bread. Mmm.
2. Farmer's market today!
3. Yesterday I was walking home and this young person came by walking a little dog. The dog veered toward me as dogs often do. I gave it that indulgent smile that you give to other people's dogs and children, as if to say, "it's okay that you're letting it so close, aww isn't it cute". Then the little bastard starts growling, jumping up on my leg, and biting me! The whole time the owner is a) not reining it in, b) not apologizing, and c) crooning to it in baby talk. It didn't break the skin or anything, but it nearly ripped a hole in my favorite pants.

Unbelievable. Excuse me, I mean rather, unfuckingbelievable.

It happened so fast, and we both kept walking, so I didn't say any of the colorful things that were coming to mind. I did give her a very nasty look, to which she was probably oblivious.

previous next

Leave a note