powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Jul. 17, 2008 - 7:19 a.m.

What happened to the Questions app on facebook? It was there, now when I want to use it, it isn't. Ah, well. There are others, but I don't care enough to install them.

It's the UN's International Year of Languages. Language Log has an entry today asking what we should do to celebrate, now that it's halfway over. Well, I think I'll use it as an excuse to make one new language-related jewelry piece per day (stuff I'm already doing in English doesn't count). Suggestions for words/phrases to use in other languages, anyone? Otherwise it's gonna be a lot of Swahili. Or maybe I could pick one langauge a week. Hmm...

I kinda wish I could pick one really good word and do a series with that word across a whole bunch of languages. That would get breadth, but not depth. I don't want to reinforce the 'languages are collections of words' view of things. And 'peace', 'love', 'welcome', in different languages is a bit overdone. But how much depth can I really hope for, anyway? Maybe I should just do temporal adverbs. That would be reallll marketable.

I'd do proverbs, but they're all so didactic. And kinda long.

Hmm, hmm, hmm.
Upon further consideration, I think it may be a stupid idea. I wish I were a little better at telling the difference between good ideas and stupid ones. Or is the difference mainly in how the idea is executed? Relatedly: got spammed by some local wedding photographer I'm vaguely in the same circle as-- I emailed her back saying I liked her work, suggested a collaboration that I thought was a good idea (her pics, my jewelry, special ordered by her customers, and profit for both of us)-- no response. Very rude! Spam me and then ignore me when I respond. Again: I thought it was a good idea. Apparently she did not. Or maybe she's just a jerk? It must be that, can't be the quality of my ideas that's the issue here. *snort*

previous next

Leave a note