powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Mar. 31, 2011 - 3:50 p.m.

A friend of mine posted this (too lazy to make link, so): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cUVxhvjc5O0

and then I reposted it but there is no indication that anyone has looked at it yet (no 'likes'! No comments!), so I'm posting it again here in hopes that someone will. It's a little film/video, Swahili/French-language hiphop from Kinshasa. I guess the group is very well known if you pay attention to such things, but I haven't been. Anyway, it's everything I love about a lot of African popular culture-- so many things going on in it. So many influences all mashed up together into one well-done piece. I can't understand it, what with knowing no French and all, but it's a joy nevertheless.

previous next

Leave a note