powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, May. 16, 2012 - 4:07 p.m.

J's birthday today. Lunch at a very nice place. We had the patio all to ourselves. There was a busy hummingbird and a very large lizard. A chuckwalla? Probably.

Yesterday was miserable, but I won't talk about that. (My social skills again).

I'm working on a new necklace. It's a neckpiece. It's not drapey at all. A circle of black paper, hand cut, with a small gap at the back so you can flex it and put it on. Colorful circles (roundish forms-- hand cut. Not really circles at all) fused into the middle for the focal point. Because it is a somewhat inflexible, non-drapey circle, it remains in a plane about the neck-- that is, the bit behind your neck stands up, and the bit in front of the chest does not lay flat against the chest. I'm not sure yet how much of a problem this is. I have seen other modern jewelry works that have this going on, too, but I don't know whether normal people will find it acceptable. Then again, I'm not sure that matters.

previous next

Leave a note