powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Aug. 16, 2012 - 7:45 a.m.

Still nothing going on here. I unpacked a box. Went to the park. Took a nap. Made some chicken for dinner, and an apple cake, which did not get done in time to have with dinner.

Experimented with a vertical orientation for a bookshelf pendant (to possibly turn into earrings, too). Don't care for it. It's not really plausible that you could stack books that way, so the book-ness of it doesn't really come through clearly enough. Maybe I just won't do earrings for this design. I don't really want to.

May be reopening my Etsy store for a bit to sell some older pieces to benefit my cousin's new baby, who was born with some severe health problems (half-formed diaphragm, so all her organs sort of didn't stay put...her liver was near her collarbone, her heart under her armpit, one of her lungs is much smaller than it should be). She's had a lot of surgery to rearrange things as they ought to be, and at 3 weeks old is still hanging in there. She's likely to be in NICU for 6 months, even if all goes well. Anyway, when I get the store opened I'll mention it here again.

My cousin, the father, still has to commute between west PA and Cincinnati where the hospital is, and work 40 hours a week. They have a 4 year old, too. "This shit sucks" is the first phrase that comes to mind, but cannot possibly begin to describe it.

previous next

Leave a note