powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Feb. 23, 2015 - 12:44 p.m.

It has become nearly impossible to pry U off of me. Most of te time he is whining piteously for something he can't have-- to put his shoes on just before bedtime, to go to a restaurant to eat AGAIN, me to do things for him when I am nursing E or trying to rest.

And this bedtime thing, once children outnumber the adults: how the fuck is that supposed to work? 'Badly' seems to be the answer so far. We are like pingpong balls: I nurse E while J hangs with U and Q, I try to get U ready for bed against protestations. J gets Q ready for bed. By the time U is ready to go to bed, E is awake again and wants to nurse. U gets overtired and we have to start over from scratch on the bedtime willingness front. J holds E while I work on U some more. Etc.

Aargh.

previous next

Leave a note