powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Apr. 24, 2017 - 11:47 a.m.

Mom came over and drew on a picture Q had drawn, upsetting Q greatly. She apologized but Q was having none of it. I will say mom refrained from any of her usual nonsense-- I guess the reason was scomprehensible to her-- except for a bit at the beginning when she said "is crying going to fix anything?". But midway through Q said "You didn't think about anyone else! You were only thinking about yourself!", which is a Grandma quote if there ever was one. I don't know if mom noticed or not. That's one thing about her scripting-- you'll hear your words come right back at you and hear how they sound. Has caused some reassessment for me, at any rate.

Read a thing about John Waters. He always cheers me up. He mentioned something about his nieces and nephews and I was like omg I wish he was my uncle! I think he should write an advice column. I'd love to hear his take on the 21 pairs of shorts and related situations. He would really love my mother in law, and probably tell me to go with it, ghastly sincere Peter Pan collars and all. Regarding the gelli printing, I have decided it is way too fast and inexact for me. Too many steps. Not enjoyable. No flow. I will have fun teaching it but not going to explore it further.

previous next

Leave a note