powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Aug. 03, 2019 - 12:58 p.m.

Sometimes it happens that you are excited and happy and think you are having a good conversation about interesting things with people who are also interested and enjoying themselves. And then someone says something about how frustrating and complex that topic is and you’re like, yes? Isn’t that what makes it fun and worth talking about? Why would you even talk about things that aren’t frustrating and complex?

And then someone else says “you must be fun at parties”, and you realize that you are the only one really having fun and everyone else has been humoring you and hoping you’ll stop being boring.

And they say, “no, it’s fascinating” but you can’t be sure any more whether they mean it or whether it’s one of those lies people tell because they can’t just say, “This is not something I want to talk about any more.”

I don’t know whether that all really happened or not, I don’t know what they were really thinking but it has happened enough in my life that I can’t see it any other way.

I’m glad I live with a philosopher who literally never finds a topic too frustrating and complex to want to analyze thoroughly. I forgot most people aren’t like that.

previous next

Leave a note