powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Dec. 26, 2019 - 6:33 p.m.

I ended up being really off today. Nothing terrible just not great. I frugally ate a bowl of beans when we went out, then came home and gorged myself on day-old sweet rolls and cookies. (That autocorrected to “forced myself on day old sweet rolls...” and that doesn’t seem totally inaccurate). Laid in bed and was grumpy at the kids.

Went up to work on my plan for the jewelry and poked around at initial stages for some pieces and I don’t like it. I just don’t feel good about them. They don’t look as good as the leaf pieces did and they don’t look as good as the earlier cyanotype pieces did. Part of the issue is that my existing cyanotypes aren’t in the right weight of paper for that. Sigh.

Maybe I should use the bead technique for them (like my recent pieces with the pencil text and dyed paper). I’ll have to revisit the chain/cord issue. The beads really are pretty versatile structures. Lots of ways to expand on them if that turns out to be a good idea.

I think I’m just overwhelmed by it. I just want a solid, consistently appealing product to rely on. Something with integrity and charisma. (Unlike me.). So I have different standards than in the past when I was just excited about exploring materials and techniques.

previous next

Leave a note