powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Sept. 02, 2021 - 10:06 p.m.

Today I managed to do a boring transcription and moved the jewelry forward and on breaks fiddled around with paper in a way I haven’t in a while. Got out my books on pleating and folding and my long offcuts of paper I’ve been saving and made a useless folded cylinder. Well I thought maybe it could be a prototype for a Halloween lantern, but I didn’t cut any holes in it so it would make a lousy lantern. So I don’t know what to do with it.

Then I took another strip and made 2 of these little v-folded wreaths. I have one that is a Christmas tree ornament and I found it very satisfying to make and I’m happy to see it every year, so I did these. Black paper. Made a little rubber stamp of a leviathan cross and stamped it (rather painstakingly because I didn’t have an ink pad and so used a white watercolor pencil and a sponge) on the paper before I folded it so now have have two of these little black wreaths with leviathan crosses going all around them. Yes, friends, it’s satanic origami hour. They’re silly and took way too long, but I feel a bit more myself, I will say.

I wanted to do something that I could decorate and score and mail flat and people could fold themselves and have a cool little thing with very little effort but these are not that thing.

previous next

Leave a note