powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Mar. 06, 2022 - 7:14 p.m.

I listened to an interview of a photographer, by a photographer. Professional ones, photojournalists, at least one an academic. Listening to it brought me right back to “oh yes this is why I couldn’t do linguistics/anthropology”. He was really integrated into the communities he was photographing, over a period of years. He described what some of the connection-making interactions were like in useful detail, and… no. Not in my repertoire.

Not that you have to do all that to take compelling photos. But if you want to be able to take photos of humans, you need some way of building rapport. Don’t you?

Anyway. I had been hoping to be inspired, listening to that, but instead I came away somewhat discouraged that there are useful tools that just aren’t in my personal toolbox. I have other stuff, yeah. Got my duct tape. Some glitter. I’ll see what I can do. It doesn’t matter anyway, right? Right.

Oh. I was going to say something about the Ukraine. I just can’t wrap my mind around why someone would destroy the peace like this in this way. I also dislike all the rah-rah pro-Ukraine stuff people are doing. Of course I hope it’ll end peacefully soon. But renaming your bar’s Moscow Mules to Kyiv Mules or whatever isn’t going to do anything. Stop that.

previous next

Leave a note