powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, May. 22, 2023 - 3:45 p.m.

It’s not going as well as I’d hoped. I walked to the cemetery yesterday, but my spare phone battery I brought decided to die on me, and my phone almost didn’t make it. The walk was over an hour each way. I took a few pinhole photos when I as there but the app I use sucks the energy for some reason and I was terrified of losing charge and not being able to find my way home, not remembering the code to get in the building.

I made it home at 1%. I remembered the code. I collapsed into bed. I could barely walk by the time I got home. Calves and hips and soles of my feet. No blisters, but it was close. There’s nothing for me to do here if I don’t walk somewhere. It’s almost 4pm and I have been laying in bed since I woke at 6am. I got up to use the toilet and make tea. Just now got up again for the second cup of tea. I should have brought my computer after all.

My in-laws are right. Why do I come here? What is there for me to do? Maybe next year, I’ll pick a different city.

previous next

Leave a note