powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Aug. 12, 2023 - 8:54 a.m.

The damn jacket, first wash one of the photos hadn’t been exposed enough and there’s wasn’t enough of an image to make it out. So I applied more chemicals, let dry, registered the negative as best I could, re-exposed, rinsed again and this time A LOT MORE of the cyanotype had washed all over the place and more of the prints were washed out. I got mad and rinsed it again. Now it’s just a mess. I’m not sure what the chances are of getting the cyanotype out entirely so I at least have a cute pink jacket.

Some of the botanical prints on there had turned out really nice, too. I don’t know why this happened. The fabric was 95% cotton. Anyway, it may become a patchwork. I’m terribly worried about the other pieces but I’m not going to rinse them repeatedly just to see if I can ruin them.

I’m a little annoyed whenever I don’t experience effortless success.

Edit: I washed it again, ruthlessly this time, with soap. It washed out even more. The blue is sort of now a pale tan. The botanicals still look interesting, the photos are blank rectangles. Should I apply more cyan on top and make it all botanical? Should I try again with the photos? Do a thing like on the other one where I put it on linen or something and then sew it on? There are easier and more permanent ways to get images on fabric, why am I so set on this? Does it get me out of having to try to print ravens?

previous next

Leave a note