powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Aug. 14, 2023 - 9:38 p.m.

I made a pie for the first time this year. Peach custard pie, one of the family recipes. It turned out good. The custard is just eggs, sugar, a little flour. No milk.

Honestly I’m just so sick of myself when it comes to the art projects. It’s just a foregone conclusion that nothing will stick or get any traction or staying power. If it doesn’t even get traction with me then how to I expect to develop my ideas well enough to really reach others? Or to make anything that even truly satisfies just me?

Or as I said to a friend the other day, I then had to put the jacket aside to glare at it for a while. Except often that’s it. I move on.

Mom got stuck on the floor the other day, kneeling to reach where her phone had fallen under the bed. Luckily she was able to reach her other phone. Luckily J and I were nearby and were eventually able to get her back on her feet.

The unfortunate side effect is I feel like I should answer every call from her now, but of course, I will regret doing so 99% of the time.

Also, I vow I will do my best to never get to a level of lack of strength/flexibility such that I can’t get up off the floor. I realize there’s a lot out of one’s control in that regard, but there’s also a lot that is under one’s control.

previous next

Leave a note