powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Sept. 13, 2023 - 10:30 a.m.

So now I have all these palimpsests. Today the idea is how good they could still look of someone who was good at calligraphy did that on there. Let’s say you do calligraphy on a negative and then put it there with the shadow and then you come back and do calligraphy over it in cyanotype fluid so the color matches and then let’s say after that dries you come back and add any more details in your gouache or whatever. That could be good. If someone were competent in all that.

I tried one and it’s messy as shit. I can’t just improvise. Watching videos of calligraphers who do even very loose, messy work, they don’t either. I know damn well what I need to do if I want to be able to do that.

It did serve as proof of concept, which is that cyan fluid will work fine in a pen with a drop of gum arabic. Or a brush, obviously. Even a dirty one with sumi ink still crusted on it.

Two bars I want to go to, one is one of the oldest tiki bars in the country, and we haven’t been there since we’ve been here. And the other is a new gin bar. J can’t go with me because children; I suppose I could find someone to go with, but I don’t want to have to actually sit there and talk to anyone. Can I bring a book to a cocktail bar? By “can I”, I mean will doing so invite even more interaction than just sitting there would? Because that sounds nice. Drinking a good cocktail and reading.

previous next

Leave a note