powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, Sept. 15, 2023 - 6:27 p.m.

I did like 5 cyanotypes today, after I made another transparency cyanotype with a lace print. A bolder line. And these all turned out really good, except for one that the wind blew a little and so it’s a double exposure, but even that’s not that bad.

I had been wanting to do ones with photos but I don’t know if those will ever be arrayed in the right way and bold enough of an image to get the kind of print I want. Botanicals would work. I suppose I could do more botanicals. Sigh. Nah, the lace is cool and I think lettering will be awesome too. I’ll try that next.

I also may take a pinhole photo of the thing in process. I’m curious how it all would look through pinhole. Probably not enough detail, but you never know. May as well try it.

Because of a long fruitless and inconvenient wait on the guy who was supposed to fix our oven today conflicting with other plans and demands, I ended up leaving Q at the library alone for like 20 minutes, 5 of which was after closing time. A librarian on a bicycle was hovering at a polite but concerned distance when I picked her up, which I appreciated. I feel torn between “this was risky” and “this was a good idea”. She has to learn to navigate the world independently at some point. The library is a better place to start than most. It’s the most terrifying thing I can think of, her out in the world.

previous next

Leave a note