powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Sept. 21, 2023 - 9:55 p.m.

Consumerist urges asides, I’m stuck on the art. The next thing I want to do is do good calligraphy on a transparency and make a cool cyanotype of it. But I’m stuck on the words, on the hand, on how to fold it. I don’t want to get any of that wrong. It all has to match and be perfect. Hah.

I don’t need to get it all right, but I need to try and not be paralyzed. But if I don’t like the words, if the rest is perfect, I’ll hate it. If I don’t like the hand, or it’s rendering, I’ll be ashamed. The fold I can always redo. But the first two do need to be right.

I did some messy calligraphy on a strip today and curled it around over onto itself smoothly and sewed it to itself and in many ways (I mean many) it was terrible, but what I liked about it was how the letters became just marks. Backwards, upside down, squashed, fading away. I mean, it has potential.

So much potential.

previous next

Leave a note