powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Jan. 03, 2024 - 7:34 a.m.

I am experiencing something with my work I have never felt before in that it feels like I am not making this piece but rather the work is emerging through me, I am a conduit, and it’s not even art, it’s a different thing altogether. It has agency of its own. And also I’m driven to make it, the hyperfocus is strong for days now.

I drew three tarot cards about what the focus of my work should be for this year. One was The World, which I took as permission to make my work about literally anything I want to. The card is usually about achievement, attainment, and I set that aside in favor of the other reading. But now I think it may be about that too, if I keep doing this sort of thing. Because what I have done is rather accomplished, I would say.

Second card was Justice reversed, which is about addressing injustice. Simple enough.

Third card was the High Priestess, which I took to be about trusting my creative intuitions. But now it feels a lot more literal. There’s a spiritual force to this that is, frankly, really out of character for me. I don’t know whether it will repeat or last and that’s part of why I’m working so frantically at this. I have to finish it before everything shifts. Maybe I’m just in one of those brain states. Right now it doesn’t feel like it will change, but I can’t trust that.

previous next

Leave a note